pineapple + raspberry smoothie

the aftermath

Until recently, I didn’t really know what an immersion blender was. I guess the name says it all, but I never stopped to think about it. The first time I used it, I was making butternut squash soup with a friend. The thought of having to puree the soup in batches was so unappealing. Then she pulled out her handy blender. Genius! I purchased my first immersion blender last weekend – a pomegranate red Cuisinart.

Ever since the decline of my Magic Bullet, I’ve avoided using blenders and food processors altogether. They just don’t measure up and I’m too stubborn to give into the bullet after it’s died on me twice. But after using the immersion blender to make this smoothie, I know that this is what I need to get over the Magic Bullet. It was swift, easy to clean and oh so quiet!

chia seed gel in the making

This was also my first time using chia seeds in a smoothie. Adding chia seed gel to your smoothies gives it a thicker mouthfeel, which is good if you want to stay away from yogurt or milk. It also adds fiber which is always a good thing in my book. I love pineapple and raspberries, they both have such distinct flavors. A tiny bit of banana softens up the tartness and brings this smoothie to a sweet finish.

sweet + juicy pineapple

pineapple + raspberry smoothie

(makes about 2 cups)

1 tablespoon chia seeds

2 blood oranges*

1 cup diced fresh pineapple

3/4 cup frozen raspberries

1/2 banana, sliced

Sweetener of choice (optional)

In a small cup, combine chia seeds and juice of 1 orange; set aside for at least 5 minutes. The chia seeds will absorb the juice, swell and become gelatinous. In the blender container, combine juice of the remaining orange, pineapple, raspberries, banana and chia seed gel; whirl until smooth. Add honey or agave if desired (my pineapple was super sweet so I didn’t need any).

 

*Trader Joe’s is currently selling California blood oranges for $2.29 a bag. They are subtle in flavor and acidity, but have a deep, beautiful color.

2 thoughts on “pineapple + raspberry smoothie

  1. “Chia seeds have been in Whole Foods for a long time, but they’re just now starting to grow in popularity,” said Drew Rosen, nutrition and cooking teacher at New York City’s Whole Foods Market Tribeca. “It’s an ancient crop, but because the seeds are so flexible and high in omega threes, they are just blossoming all over the markets in all different types of products.” :

    Hottest write-up on our personal online site
    <,http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/coconut-water-benefits/

  2. Pingback: sweet potato coconut soup + thai pesto | Top of the Apple

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,673 other followers

