smoky sweet potato fries + homemade garlic mayo

Even thought it’s summer and this weekend hit a record high of 104 degrees, I still find myself craving more foods than just fresh salads, like baked sweet potatoes. I guess the ideal thing for summer would be to grate the sweet potatoes into a slaw, but my favorite thing about sweet potatoes is the sweet caramelized flavor that develops after baking. As you know, cravings can be very demanding so I’ve been baking these sweet babies, 100 degrees and all. In order  to avoid a toasty kitchen, I’ve been using my little toaster oven. As long as the sweet potatoes are small (about 4-6 ounces) or cut up (like these fries), they cook up just the way I like them, keeping my kitchen cool and  my sweet potatoes extra sweet, naturally.

These fries are smoky from this amazing new seasoning blend I found at Trader Joe’s. It’s a combination of smoked paprika flakes, sea salt and dried basil. It comes in a grinder and I’ve been putting it on everything, from shrimp, to roasted broccoli to sauteed greens. It’s like cooking everything in bacon sans the calories so I am pretty much addicted. If you see it at the store, be sure to stock up, you never know with these Trader Joe’s products.

I wasn’t going for a crispy fry this time, just some simple baked sticks, but if you want crispy, coat the sweet potatoes in a bit of flour after you’ve smothered them with oil. I love a savory dip for sweet potato fries so I just went with good ol’ mayo. It’s a cinch to make and tastes so much more special knowing you made it. I kept it simple with garlic but try adding different herbs like rosemary. Sweet potatoes love rosemary.

smoky sweet potatoes fries + homemade garlic mayo

serves 2

2 small sweet potatoes (about 10 ounces total), cut into uniform sticks or wedges

1 teaspoon olive oil

Trader Joe’s South African Smoke seasoning blend

Smoked sea salt

for the mayonnaise:

2 egg yolks

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 teaspoon smoked sea salt

1 cup vegetable oil

Preheat toaster oven to 400 degrees. In a bowl, combine sweet potatoes and olive oil; toss to coat. Line oven tray or rack with aluminum foil; spread sweet potatoes evenly so they are not touching. Season with seasoning blend and salt to taste. Bake until cooked through and starting to brown, about 35-40 minutes. Meanwhile, make the mayonnaise.

To make the mayonnaise: In food processor, place egg yolks, lemon juice, mustard, garlic and salt; begin to pulse. While pulsing, slowly add the oil in a steady stream. Continue whirling until emulsified.

72 thoughts on “smoky sweet potato fries + homemade garlic mayo

  1. Pingback: baked cheddar + jalapeño hominy | Top of the Apple

  2. I’m on the biggest sweet potato jag at the moment! Definitely going to try this!

    Also, I’ve heard putting a dash of bourbon in mashed sweet potatoes is meant to be delicious. Anyone able to confirm this?

  3. We LOVE to roast sweet potatoes to make fries!!! We eat them all fall and winter. I’ve never thought to put smoked paprika and basil on them along with the salt. (Alas, no Trader Joes here! grrrrr) We will certainly be giving that a try!

  4. I love sweet potato fries! I used to hate sweet potatoes, but I grew to like them. Thanks for sharing how to make them, as well as the garlic mayonnaise! Hope the heat lessens soon so you’re not forced to use your mini toaster oven if you don’t want to. Congrats on making Freshly Pressed.

  5. These sound absolutely delicious. I am currently scouring the blogosphere for new and healthy eats and this seems to be right up there. I’m on a journey of weight loss, better dietary habits and adventure. Thanks for posting. I’ll let you know how mine turn out!

  6. i’ve had this several times in eastern european kitchens–dunno if your intention was to get all ethnic. the sauce (mushdei) is, quite easily, my favorite thing in the world, but even though the recipe is simple, i never learned how to make it. it was more frequently served to me with russett potatoes, however the sweet potatoes sound like they would be AMAZING. thanks for the recipe!

  7. I love sweet potato fries all year round as well! And I love mixing them in a chili powder and smoked paprika seasoning…the best way to enjoy them is smoky style. I have never seen this seasoning at TJ’s but it is definitely on my next grocery list! Thanks for sharing. :)

  8. That looks mouthwatering. I first tried sweet potato fries at Amazon grill and have been a fan ever since. Mayo isn’t really my thing, but I would definitely try this kind. Cheers : )

  9. I’m definitely NOT going to get my boyfriend to go for the garlic mayo — as anything with the word “mayonaise” in it is DEAD to him!

    However — these look incredible. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Maybe I’ll trick him and call it “whipped garlic.”
    ;)

  10. Two things: 1) Thanks for the heads up on the Trader Joe’s new seasoning. Its already on the list. 2) I had never heard of tossing the fries in oil then flour for the crispy factor. I will definitely try that on my butternut squash fries. Thanks for the excellent tips!

  11. Looks reallly,really good!!!!!!!!!!!! I love sweet potato fries and chips.Congratrs on making FP.
    We have a five years old Autistic son. Please visit my website where I write poems as seen through the eyes of our son. Please refer anyone that you believe can relate to the isseues. http://jacquirose17.wordpress.com/
    My goal is to increase Autism Awareness the statistics are quite alarming.

    Kindest Regards

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,670 other followers

