baked cheddar + jalapeño hominy

I came across this hominy recipe on Pinterest one day and I knew I would love it. I’m a huge hominy fan and the cheddar and jalapeño flavors remind me of the mac n’ cheese at Roebling Tea Room. They don’t put jalapeños in it but you can definitely taste them. They must use them somewhere along the way.

an alternative to shrimp and grits

I adapted this recipe from the Wisconsin Cheese Talk website and they use crumbled bacon in theirs, which I’m sure is heavenly but I like to keep things simple in my refrigerator so I’ve added some paprika seasoning to replicate the smokiness of the bacon. Not the same but close. Pair this with grilled shrimp and a crisp salad for solid meal.

baked cheddar + jalapeño hominy

baked cheddar + jalapeño hominy

adapted from Wisconsin Cheese Talk

ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • Trader Joe’s South African Smoke seasoning or 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 3 jalapenos, sliced
  • 2 (36.5 oz) cans cooked hominy, drained
  • 1 (4 oz) can green chiles
  • 3 cups grated cheddar cheese, divided

instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325ºF.
  2. In a large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add 10 grinds of seasoning or the smoked paprika, onion and the jalapeños. Cook and stir until onions and peppers are soft.
  3. Add hominy and chiles. Stir and cook until warm.
  4. Add 2 cups of the cheese; stir until melted.
  5. Remove mixture to a 9×13-inch casserole. Top with remaining cheese.
  6. Bake until bubbly, about 20 minutes. Change the oven setting to BROIL; place casserole under broiler until brown, about 5 minutes.
  7. Serve with grilled shrimp and a crisp green salad.
3 thoughts on “baked cheddar + jalapeño hominy

  1. Gluten free!! I am going to make this asap!! I have been to the Gluten Girl site and haven’t seen this anywhere..missed it on pinterest!! Been looking for something to do with my Hominy besides Shrimp..Thanks!!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,678 other followers

