coconut fish curry + tiger beer

The folks over at Tiger Beer invited me to a dinner of curry and beer at NYC’s An Choi last month to introduce me to their Singaporean beer and its great pairing ability. An Choi, a Vietnamese restaurant, was pairing the beer with their lemongrass chicken curry, which was beyond what I expected. I always stick to pho, spring rolls and vermicelli when I go to Vietnamese restaurants but this was quite a treat. Chicken on the bone was cooked to a tender finish in their silky, flavorful broth, which I slowly sopped up with a baguette.

Tiger, which they explained was a light lager that was easily paired with a variety of Asian cuisines, ended up being much more flavorful than I expected. Now I’m no beer connoisseur and I rarely drink more than one beer with a meal, but if I am going to drink beer I would prefer to drink something flavorful and special. Tiger beer surpassed my expectations. In my opinion, it was not light at all, I found it to be medium-bodied, like an amber ale. Does it actually pair well with curry? I couldn’t tell you really, it but it didn’t over power the curry like a wine might have yet it was tasty. I would definitely choose this over a light, easy-to-drink beer.

I wanted to remake the lemongrass curry at home to enjoy with the complimentary Tiger beer I was sent, but I knew I wouldn’t be able to recreate that delicious meal in one try, so I went with an old favorite. I change the vegetables in this every time I make it, and sometimes I add different seafood, but today’s flounder at the market looked so perfect that I just went with all fish.

coconut fish curry

serves 4

ingredients

  • 2 pounds firm white fish, like flounder, halibut or tilapia
  • 1/2 cup lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cups thinly sliced onion
  • 4 jalapeños, thinly sliced
  • 4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons minced ginger
  • 8 curry leaves, roughly torn
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (15-ounce) can coconut milk
  • 1 red pepper, sliced into thin strips
  • 2 handfuls of snow peas
  • Cilantro for garnish

instructions

  1. Pat fish dry with paper towel. Cut into large chunks. In a shallow bowl, combine fish and lime juice. Marinate in refrigerator while you prepare remaining ingredients.
  2. In a large pot, heat oil over high heat until it begins to shimmer. Add onions, jalapeños, garlic, ginger and curry leaves. Cook and stir until onion  begins to wilt. Add curry powder and salt; stir.
  3. Reduce heat and slowly add in coconut milk. Stir and bring to a simmer. Add 1 cup of water and mix well.
  4. Add fish with its juices, red pepper and snow peas. Gently stir so that all fish is submerged in broth. Cook until fish is white and cooked through, about 5 minutes.
  5. To serve, ladle soup into bowls, garnish with cilantro and accompany with white rice or baguette.

 

One thought on “coconut fish curry + tiger beer

  1. I made this tonight for dinner. It was delicious! I altered the recipe slightly to make it less hot and more interesting. I added only one pound of fish and also a pound of raw shrimp. I also used only one tbs. of olive oil, and added only one jalapeno. It was plenty hot without the other three jalapenos specified in the recipe. I used my mandolin to slice the onions. I absolutely love this kind of food but I’ve never tried to make it myself. I will definitely make this again and again. Yum!

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,673 other followers

