smoky + chunky lentil soup

Yesterday I prepared for hurricane Sandy by making a big batch of lentil soup. I don’t normally like lentil soup, not because of the lentils but because of the texture. They’re always thick, lumpy and usually have cumin in them, which I don’t love. So I made this lentil soup to please my taste, but I’m sure you’ll like it too. It’s brothy, not lumpy, it has chunks of carrots and tomato and I’ve flavored it with chipotle and smoked paprika. The other thing I like about it is that the lentils are whole and intact with a bit of bite to them, not mushy. I was inspired by Heidi Swanson’s lentil soup, which looks divine, but I made a few additions to make it just right for me.

smoky + chunky lentil soup

ingredients

  • 2 cups dry green lentils
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large white onion, chopped
  • 2 cups diced carrots
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 chipotle chile in adobo
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 2 (15-ounce) cans fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 bunch kale, deveined and roughly chopped

procedure

  1. In a large pot of boiling water, cook lentils until ‘al dente’. Drain and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion, carrots, paprika, chile and salt. Cook and stir until carrots are fork tender, not soft.
  3. Add tomatoes, lentils and 5 cups of water. Stir and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to a simmer and add kale. Stir into soup until kale is bright green. Serve with a sliced hard-boiled egg, if desired. ( I may do this later)
3 thoughts on “smoky + chunky lentil soup

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,667 other followers

