curried tempeh salad + mango chutney

My favorite thing to eat when I go to L.A. is the curried tempeh salad at M Cafe. Last time I was in town I called a taxi to go to the airport for my flight home. I was running late but I insisted on swinging by the cafe to pick up one last order of curried tempeh for my flight. Once I got my fix, a sense of calm came over me and the thought of missing my flight didn’t seem so bad. I ended up missing my flight. Typically I’d be furious, but as I sat at the airport for the next few hours enjoying my salad, I just thought to myself, “This was totally worth it”.

This is my version of the salad. I’m sure it’s not accurate but it’s damn tasty. It’ll definitely hold me over until my next trip out west.

 

curried tempeh salad + mango chutney

1/2 cup brown rice, uncooked

1 8 oz package grain tempeh, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

2 tablespoons tamari or soy sauce

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 teaspoon curry powder

2 tablespoons olive oil, divided

1 head kale, stems removed and cut into bite-size pieces

Salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted

1/2 cup Greek yogurt (2%)

1/4 cup mango chutney

1/3 cup raisins

Pita bread

Cook rice according to package directions. In the meantime, into a small bowl, combine tempeh, tamari, maple syrup and curry; toss gently. In saute pan over medium heat, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil. Add tempeh mixture; cook and stir until fragrant, about 3 minutes. Remove to bowl; set aside. In same saute pan, heat remaining 1 tablespoon of the oil over medium heat; add kale; cook and stir until slightly wilted and bright green, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. To the tempeh add rice, almonds, yogurt, chutney and raisins; mix until yogurt is distributed throughout. Add kale; mix gently. Serve with lettuce cups or pita bread.

What do you think?

