vegan peanut flour + coconut pancakes

Last year I bought a package of vacuum sealed peanut flour* at Trader Joe’s. I’ve got to admit, I’m a sucker for packaging because I really didn’t know what I was going to do with it. I did a search and I mostly found cookie and smoothie recipes, which I don’t make much of so it sat in the cupboard for quite some time…until recently.

The first time I made these pancakes, they blew me away. I haven’t made pancakes without the peanut flour since. If you don’t have any, use regular flour and add peanut butter for the peanut flavor. Peanuts and coconut are extra nutty together and the coconut’s subtle sweetness comes to life with a drizzle of maple syrup.

vegan peanut + coconut pancakes

(serves 2)

1 tablespoon flax meal

1/2 cup peanut flour

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons unsweetened grated coconut

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup soy milk

2 tablespoons extra virgin coconut oil

2 teaspoons buttery spread

In a small bowl, mix together flax meal and 3 tablespoons of water; set aside for about 5 minutes. In a mixing bowl, combine flours, coconut, baking powder, salt and sugar. To the flax meal, add milk and oil; pour into dry ingredients; mix well. In skillet over medium heat, heat 1 teaspoon of the butter until sizzling; pour spoonfuls of batter onto the skillet using 2-3 tablespoons per pancake. Cook until brown, about 3 minutes each side. Serve hot with maple syrup.

*I just found out from Love Veggies and Yoga that the flour has been discontinued. What a bummer, I didn’t even get a chance to stock up. If anyone sees it around again, please let me know!

5 thoughts on “vegan peanut flour + coconut pancakes

  1. Pingback: Apple Pancakes and Wedding { morning }

  2. Hi, I came across your post on tastespotting. Can’t wait for some nummy peanut flour pancakes. I, too, was upset when TJ’s let their peanut flour go. And after much internet scouring I found: http://www.southerngracefarms.com/

    THE SOURCE OF TJ’S PEANUT FLOUR. Yes, it costs more. Plus shipping. But, hey, a girl needs her peanut flour. I’ll never eat regular peanut butter again.

What do you think?

