how to make fresh ricotta cheese

homemade ricotta cheese

I discovered the beauty of ricotta cheese last year when I made a recipe from Martha Stewart for chicken ricotta meatballs. I bought a huge tub of the stuff and somehow found a way to use up every last bit of it. Apparently it just tastes great on everything. Who knew? I made eggplant caponata and ricotta on toast, I ate it with berries, I drizzled it with honey – the list goes on. If you’re new to ricotta, see these top 5 things to do with it from The Kitchn.

I never knew ricotta was so easy to make and boy am I a fan of easy. You can use this same method to make similar cheeses like queso fresco and paneer for Indian food. Paneer will be my next experiment; paneer in a thick, creamy cashew sauce. Delicious!

fresh ricotta cheese

(makes about 1 cup)

4 cups whole milk

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons lemon juice

Cheese cloth

In a large pot over medium heat, combine milk and salt. Stir constantly until temperature reaches 180 degrees. Remove from heat, add lemon juice; stir until lemon is distributed. Milk will instantly curdle and begin to separate from the whey, or clear liquid. Allow to sit until completely separated, about 5 minutes.

milk curdles draining

Place a colander in the sink; fold cheese cloth in four and line colander with it. Pour curdled milk into colander; drain untouched for about 45-55 minutes. Remove the drained curdles to a small dish. Consume immediately (I did) or store in airtight container in the refrigerator for several days.

2 thoughts on “how to make fresh ricotta cheese

  1. Pingback: shells with roasted cauliflower, anchovies + ricotta | Top of the Apple

  2. I love how easy this is! I haven’t bought it in years since learning how to make it. Just so you know, you can do the same with 1/4 c/4Tbl white vinegar in place of the lemon juice.

What do you think?

