green tea + date smoothie

green tea and date smoothie

I wanted to share a quick recipe I threw together this morning. I love the flavor of green tea; I get so excited when I discover a green tea ice cream with a strong flavor (Lime Tree Deli, 9th Street & 1st Ave, NYC). I used matcha green tea powder to make sure I got the flavor I wanted. I would’ve added half a banana but I was out so I used chia seeds instead to get that thick mouthfeel. I am pretty wired now but it’s totally worth the flavor!

green tea + date smoothie

makes about 2 cups

ingredients

  • 1 cup milk (I used vanilla flax milk)
  • 1/4 cup raw almond, soaked overnight if you remember
  • 3 medjool dates, soaked overnight if you remember
  • 1 tablespoon matcha green tea powder
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 cup ice

procedure

  1. In a blender, combine milk, almonds, dates and green tea powder; whirl until smooth.
  2. Add chia seeds; allow to sit 5 minutes until thick. Add ice; whirl until smooth.
  3. Enjoy immediately.
What do you think?

