date, nut + pretzel dust crumble

I got this idea from The First Mess blog. She does a raw date and nut crumble over a raw almond cream fruit topping. Doesn’t that sound wonderful? The minute I saw the post, I knew I had to try it. I hadn’t been this excited about a recipe in a while, which is silly because it’s so simple – but oh-so-genius!

Like the original post implies, this is much like a disassembled Larabar – your favorite nuts pulsed with dates and some spices. This is delicious as is, but I OD’ed on Larabars a few years back and realized that the fat content was just too high for me and they tend to make me nauseous after a few bites. This too was lacking a bit of something to break up the fattiness of all the nuts so I thought pretzel dust! I tested it on a little spoonful and it was just what I was looking for.

The recipe makes a nice batch, about 2 cups, so save it in an airtight container in the fridge and use on fruit and yogurt, ice cream or even sprinkled on some toast. I know the photo above only has the crumble on the yogurt, but I ended up covering the fruit with about 1/2 cup of the crumble. Trust me, it’s delightful!

date, nut + pretzel dust crumble

ingredients

  • 1 cup mixed nuts (I used walnuts, almonds and pecans)
  • 6 medjool dates, pitted
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (or cardamom if you have it)
  • 1/2 cup ground salted pretzels
  • 2 tablespoons hemp seeds

procedure

  1. Combine nuts, dates, salt, cinnamon and vanilla in a food processor; pulse until the nuts and dates become large crumbs and the mix holds together when you pinch it.
  2. Remove crumble to a bowl and mix in pretzel dust and hemp seeds. Refrigerate leftovers.
What do you think?

