trader joe’s japanese fried rice with broccoli + leafy greens

I have recently become obsessed with Trader Joe’s Japanese fried rice. I usually skip the frozen food aisle, but on one particular day they were giving out samples of this amazing rice. I was really impressed by the flavor and texture considering it was frozen but I didn’t want to give in so easily, so I passed. The next time I was in the store I went right for the frozen foods and stocked up on the rice and I’m so glad I did.

I am a big fan of one pot meals for weekday dinners and this is now my number one recipe. The rice has that comforting stickiness you find at sushi restaurants. It also has edamame, hijiki seaweed, strips of fried tofu and julienned carrots. I bulk it up with broccoli florets and chopped leafy greens. I have been using the bagged leafy greens from Trader Joe’s – a mix of spinach, collard, mustard and turnip greens. I use a whole bag of the rice for one recipe, so I suggest stocking up!

Trader Joe's Japanese-Style Fried Rice

trader joe’s japanese fried rice with broccoli + leafy greens

serves 2

ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 3 cups broccoli florets
  • 4 cups tightly packed leafy greens (such as spinach, kale and chard)
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 (16-ounce) bag Trader Joe’s Japanese Style Fried Rice

procedure

  1. In a heavy pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add garlic and red pepper; cook and stir until fragrant, about 1 minute.
  2. Add broccoli before garlic turns brown. Cook and stir until bright green, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to low.
  3. Add leafy greens and soy sauce. Mix well and cover. Allow to steam until greens are bright in color, about 2 minutes.
  4. Add rice. Cook and stir until hot and sticky, about 6-8 minutes. Serve warm.

One thought on “trader joe’s japanese fried rice with broccoli + leafy greens

  1. This looks good. I have been buying a comparable product at Costco in bulk packaging. It’s “Seeds of Change” Organic Quinoa & Brown Rice. It too comes in a sealed package but it’s not frozen. Just tear the top of the package and two minutes in the microwave cooks it. OMG! It’s delicious! and healthy too…

What do you think?