waffles for two

I didn’t go to work today because I was hit with an intense cold over the weekend, so I took the time to make a sweet and comforting breakfast. I had stopped making waffles for a while because for some reason they kept sticking to the waffle maker. Well, not for some reason. It was because I kept experimenting and trying to make the Ben & Jerry’s of waffles – removing eggs, adding flax meal or applesauce, replacing flours, adding almond butter, chocolate chips, cherries, coconut flakes – you know how it goes. Greg was getting sick of eating waffle scraps and hearing me blame it on the waffle maker so I just gave up for a while.

Today I looked for the most basic of recipes and yes, I did do some substituting, but not much, I promise. These waffles turned out super fluffy yet crisp on the outside, so it didn’t leave us feeling too full. The secret to the airy batter is not just that I finally decided to use egg (as Greg insisted), but that you beat the egg whites separately. I added cocoa powder (and didn’t tell Greg) but it didn’t make too much of a difference so I would just omit it next time. The recipe makes exactly two waffles and a half. I’m saving the half to put in the toaster later!

waffles for two

makes 2-1/2 waffles

ingredients

  • 1/3 cup all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup salted butter, melted
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 egg, yolk and white separated
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • Sliced fruit (optional)

instructions

  1. In a large bowl, combine flours, baking powder and salt.
  2. In a small bowl, combine butter, sugar and egg yolk. Pour into dry ingredients.
  3. While whisking, slowly add milk until fully incorporated.
  4. In a small bowl, beat egg white until foamy, about 2 minutes. Add to batter and gently fold in.
  5. Ladle spoonfuls of batter onto waffle maker and cook according to your machine’s instructions.
  6. Serve with sliced fruit and maple syrup.

2 thoughts on “waffles for two

What do you think?